Best bits to start off with?

Hi , what are the best bits to start off with Im new at cnc and I want to practice on not so expensive bits. Any help would be great.
I’m using 1/4” shank.
Thanks

Initially, you will want to buy a variety of bits to play with and you’ll most certainly break a few here and there as you learn the machine. I’ve had pretty good results with the 5-packs and variety packs on Amazon from SpeTool, Yonico, Speed Tiger and the like.

It won’t be long before you figure out which bits are most important to you and where to spend extra on good quality tooling such as Jenny’s, Amana and Whiteside to name a few of the better ones.

There’s always a place for cheap bits regardless of how experienced you are :wink:

3 Likes

Thanks !! Looking for in picking up my machine tomorrow morning. Been studying the software Carveco I got when I bought the machine. Will take my time learning the inns and outs of everything. Thanks

Mine arrives soon and I just went deep into bits. Cheap starters are a nice way to learn the hard lessons the cheap way.

You’ll need a spoil board bit to flatten and level your work area.
After that it all depends on what you want to make and the materials you want to cut.

As a general rule, most places have a ‘starter kit’ and its not a bad way to get a discount.

I’d recommend doing some research on YouTube. There’s lots of makers and CNC users who go into depth on bits and show how they cut. That will help you decide which of those you’ll need.

You don’t have to buy everything at once and you can even find some at the box store if you just want one or two to get started.

1 Like

Yup the spoil bit was the first one I got . Thanks for the info. This site has a great community , I post something and less then 30 mins I have responses wow!!
Thanks everyone

1 Like