Both dust collection auto on/off (wood) and air blast auto on/off (alum/plastic)

Since they’re there, I’m looking at figuring out how to make more use of the inputs/outputs on my OF controller (standard Buildbotics based) and VFD (Hitachi WJ200).

I have two digital outputs free on VFD for dust collector and spindle water pump.

On the OF controller breakout board I thought Load 1 (M7/M9 commands) for air blast (alum/plastic) and Load 2 (M8/M9 commands) for laser exhaust fan and air assist. Tool enable (M3 command) would be unused so far in the plan.

As I’m trying to sort it all out, I’m realizing the VFD can switch on the dust collector using a “wood postprocessor” without the air blast activating as well, but I’m not seeing how the opposite could happen, e.g., an “aluminum/plastic postprocessor” where M7 triggers the air blast, but somehow the VFD (or controller if necessary) doesn’t switch on the dust collector.

I’m new to CNC, postprocessors, and I/O so I may be completely missing something, or maybe it’s not possible with this set-up. In the end if it’s not doable, it’s not a big deal because I’ll mostly be working with wood, but curious if anyone knows a work-around to automate all those elements. Thanks

1 Like

Hey Martin,

do you remember when we discussed the different outputs of the Hitachi WJ200 (aka Omron MX2)?

Since the AL0..2 outputs are solid state relays which generally do not hold their state when you use them to trigger an external relay with minimal trigger current, and also are not dimensionated strong enough to switch a dust collector by themselves, I assume you mean the two open collector outputs on pins 11 and 12.

What do you mean with postprocessor?

Usually the two outputs on the VFD are to switch the spindle coolant pump and the dust collector on and off (this way you can also make that the spindle coolant pump runs a little bit longer after the spindle is stopped).