Did you buy for fun or for business?

Hi,

On a different thread I noticed a lot of comments about folks buying a CNC for fun rather than as a business investment. I also noticed a lot of the people buying for fun are retired and were looking for something to keep their mind active. That actually parallels my own situation, I retired, stumbled across the CNC router world and thought it would be interesting so I bought one over a year ago. I am a hobby woodworker and had some interest in drafting (pre-CAD, was taught back when it was pencil and paper) and computers so there seemed to be a natural fit. I have absolutely no intention to sell anything. It has been interesting, Iā€™ve made a number of projects that challenged me. I learned a lot about CNC and related software. I built a nice table, tool/bit storage and cover cabinet for it. I upgraded to a spindle, etc. All fun stuff and thatā€™s all I wanted from it.

It is a pretty expensive tool, the most expensive in my shop and Iā€™m well equipped. Has it been my best investment (I.e. dollar per use)? Nope. Was it worth it? Ya, just for the experience, learning activity, etc.

How about you? Whatā€™s your reason to buy one? Are you a fellow retiree just looking for new challenges?

3 Likes

Approaching retirement hereā€¦ Iā€™m a hobbyist woodworker with deep pockets.
Bought mine for fun. Iā€™ve enjoyed all the learning that goes along with it. I like the challenge of designing and creating things- all kinds of things- from signs to jigs to gifts. I work at my own pace which admittedly, is very slow. Several people have mentioned what money I could make with it when I do retire, but I donā€™t want the pressure of doing a hobby as an income source.
I recently bought a 3D printer and some of my self-taught CAD for that has crossed over to the CNC.
I really dig my X50 with a few upgrades but it has teased me into wanting a much larger machine.

1 Like