Do you have to home every time you turn on

Every time I start my machine I have to Home it again, is this right?

Hey Joseph,

yes, driving all axes to their home positions enables the controller to know where its carriages are. Otherwise it would not know where they are. This is ensured by either limit sensors at the home positions (see retrofitted inductive proximity limit sensors or Elite photoelectric limit sensor) that are triggered then, or on the Onefinity Standard/Original series with stall homing.

See also Homing ≠ Zeroing.

3 Likes

Every time you power on the machine you SHOULD home it… You don’t have to as long as you know your code and that you won’t overrun one of the limits. If you do overrun a limit you will have a failed carve as it will crash and lose steps but keep running.

It is a good enough pattern to say you must… But it is not truly mandatory.

1 Like

What I do is I carefully move the gantries close to home before I power up.

Being a newbie I will figure out how to get home after running a program……eventually!!!

Hey BJ,

you are right, you could simply go with zeroing/probing. But you mentioned the restriction: To ensure you don’t hit the limits. The problem can arise if the carriages are away from the home positions at startup. The machine will assume that the carriages are at machine zero on startup and will still obey to the limits set in the controller configuration. I didn’t want to make it too complicated so I did not mention this :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Hey Dan,

you can do it this way. But why should you if you have a home button?

1 Like

Dan,