Do you really need a joystick?

Hi all! I just ordered my 1F, but in order to save some money I did not get a joystick. Do I really need one? I’m assuming it just means moving using controls on the screen?

You don’t need one. You can use the screen controls to jog the machine. The joystick is a convenience rather than a necessity.

1 Like

A joystick is cheap. I got mine off of Amazon (or maybe ebay) for less than $20. The Logitech 310 works just fine. While you don’t need it you’ll find it’s nice to have.

1 Like

While the joystick is more of a convenience rather than a necessity to make the machine work, I liken this to power steering in a car. Can you drive one without power steering? Sure, but after using power steering would you ever choose to drive one without it? No. :stuck_out_tongue: Hope that helps!

4 Likes

I’m still pretty new to my machine but I would argue to say that the joystick is pretty much a necessity in my eyes. You absolutely can jog the machine without it but (unless there is a way that I am unaware of) the screen controls are not very efficient. You can push the buttons to jog the machine in set intervals…for imperial settings, I believe it is .005", .05", .5" and 5". That means that if you wanted to jog the spindle from the back limits of the Y axis to the front limits of the Y axis, you would have to hit the 5" button 6 times, switch to the .5" button and hit it 4 times, switch to the .05 button and hit it 5 times, and finally switch to the .005" button and hit it twice. Those combined will move you the 32.126" total allowance for the Y axis. If at any point you push a button that will take you over the axis limits (e.g. if you push the 5" button when you only have 2.126" of travel left), you get an error message popup that tells you it can’t move that far or it will exceed the limits of the machine. You can jog the same way for the X or Z axes, or choose to move in a 45/135/225/316 degree direction across the X & Y axis combined with th