Dust Collection

So can we discuss dust collection? Im personally interested in what I need to hook on from a standard dust collector (not shop vac) to the dust boot.

1 Like

Looks like no one has addressed Hummingbird’s question yet. I have the same question. I am a CNC newbie. My dust collection setup in my modest shop consists of a Ridgid shop vac together with a Rockler Dust Right dust separator on a mobile cart. I just wheel it over to whatever tool I’m using. For the CNC, I am thinking I should have a dedicated dust collector since my understanding is that it is best to be running the dust collector the whole time you are cutting rather than just suck up chips when the cut is done, right? So with that in mind, I would like to get something fairly compact and quiet, also reliable enough to run continually for fairly long periods of time. Oh yeah, and not break the bank though I think I’m already past the point of no return on that front, lol. What do people recommend?

On my current CNC I run a basic Rigid shop vac with a cyclone dust separator. It works great, but it is loud (maxes out around 90dB from 5’ away).

This is okay, but still loud, for the garage. I am planning to put my Onefinity CNC in the basement and want to go quieter. I am looking at either building an enclosure for the Rigid shop vac, or shelling out for the Fein Turbo 1 ($290) or the Festool CT15 ($350), either of which should be much much quieter. I may still even enclose those. My hope is to make this quiet enough to use while my one year old son is in bed, otherwise this Onefinity CNC will collect dust instead of make dust.

3 Likes

Onefinity stayed the dust boot will connect to a 2.5” hose.

Check out the Harbor Freight dust collector. It is supposed to be a good dust collector for the money, once you replace the filter bags.

1 Like