Anyone with a big dust collector hook up that 4" (or greater) to the 1F?

Noob here (to all of Woodworking), so thanks in advance…

If ‘the more chips made, the more CFM is needed’, my question is whether anyone has hooked up a dust collector (as opposed to a vac with its high static pressure/suction)?

I was looking at this big ol’ dustboot (it has a 4" ducting option) and wondering if it got all the chips/dust better (I know it will get all the <= 1 micron ‘fines’ better).

Right now I have an ancient Craftsman shopvac with a Oneida Dust Deputy hooked up to the 1F Suckit Pro with 1.5’ bristles, but was wondering if there’s a better way before I settle on one hose/cord solution mentioned on these boards (like this). I don’t want to order something that holds a 2.5" hose only to end up using 4" from the DC.

Anyone notice the new “Infinite Dust Collection Kit”? Looks like both the Suckit, and a green v2 Suckit that collects from the rear. I wonder if rear collection is more successful?

1 Like

I’m still waiting for my 1F but my plan is to use a 1hp DC. The only issue I can see with that dust boot is that the front edge will be hanging off the front of the work piece so it may not work well when the router is working near the front edge. If I had the means to make a boot I think I would make it curved to follow the shape of the router or spindle and the other 3 sides square. That would get the suction as close as possible to the router.

I’m thinking of trying one of these I’m going to be using a spindle that came with a mounting bracket that is useless for the 1F. So I was thinking of adding a clip to hold a 4" hose that mounts to the clamp. Then use the clamp at the top of the spindle. That way when I remove the front of the boot for a bit change I can easily pop the hose out of the clip and get it well out of the way without any tools.