Elite (Masso) set up in Easel

Newbie here. I’m setting up my Elite machine in Easel and I’m not sure whether I choose GRBL based or non-GRBL for the motion control option? I searched but only found information regarding the buildbotics systems. What do I need to know here in order to set up an Elite machine?

Additionally, I’m assuming I will be exporting a file which I will put on a usb drive to run the program. Can you tell me which export file type/option I will choose when presented with them?

Lastly for now, I will be engraving some text onto some softwood using a 60 degree V-bit, does anybody know what a good depth of pass setting I should use? .7mm (standard setting in the software) seems a bit shallow. Am I wrong?

Btw, does anybody know if you can send a program via wifi or must it be put onto the usb?
Thanks.

Pretty sure you can’t control masso thru your computer, so you’ll need to export the gcode. That being said it’s a masso controller, so non-grbl, but it doesn’t matter because of the first part. As to which post processor to use, i can’t help you.

As to the vcarve. It will only go as deep as the vector width will allow based on the angle of the bit. I would agree .7mm isn’t very deep. For context, that’s about how deep i go as a starting point so i can paint it and sand it down.

Check out Masso Link (Wi-Fi Connectivity) for wifi connectivity options where you can view machine status, transfer gcode and see tool information (according to masso)

1 Like

Hi,

The post processor (file type) for the g code is Masso ARCS in either mm or inches, but that is what it is called in Vectric so I’m not sure about Easel. I think the later vcersions of Vectric (my version of Aspire is 9.5) might have Onefinity Elite as the post processor now. I’m not sure on that? The file extension for the Masso is .nc , so for example your file could be vcarve1.nc