First attempt at a wasteboard! Fusion 360

Let me preface this by saying I’m a complete newbie to Fusion 360! It’s very similar to Ben Myers’ design, and likely someone else’s design as well. I’ve watched a ton of wasteboard videos.

I drew this wasteboard to use t-nuts with a 2" spacing, with recessed bolt holes to mount the wasteboard to the table below with corresponding t-nuts. There’s also a grid of benchdog holes to make use of something like Izzy Swan’s wooden toggle clamps (Homemade Wooden Clamps for Dog Hole Bench "How To" - YouTube) or Marius Hornberger’s cam lever CNC clamps (How to make the Ultimate Worktable Clamps - YouTube).

Let me know if you see anything that could/should be improved or modified. I can’t attach the Fusion 360 file directly, so I placed it in a .zip file.

Onefinity Wasteboard.zip (415.5 KB)

3 Likes

I like the doghole grid idea! What’s their diameter in this design? And the Tee nuts are 1/4-20 thread I assume?

I can’t take credit for it, but being a complete newbie (I have a laser, but never had a CNC), I don’t know what clamping method I want to use so I figured I’ll have at least 2 options with this version. :slight_smile:

I made the dogholes for 1/2" copper pipe, but they’re parametric so they can be changed easily. According to Home Depot, the outside diameter of 1/2" pipe is .625" so that’s what they are currently.

And the t-nuts are 1/4-20. I made the head recess 11/16" (with a parameter), but that may be a little tight in reality. May want to bump it up to 3/4".

1 Like

Here’s a slightly tweaked version with an extra row of t-nut holes along the left and bottom edges to install a fence. Also bumped the t-nut flange diameter up to 3/4".

I debated adding a grid, but last time I tried that, it locked up Fusion 360… Don’t really know how to do that yet I guess.

Onefinity Wasteboard 2 v6.zip (752.8 KB)

2 Likes