Inconsistent straight lines on vcarves

I’m having an issue iny vcarves where my straight lines come out a bit wonky. All the lines in the files in vectric are straight and they look correct in the 3D view but the carves just have so many weird things going on. I have no idea if this is user error, a software issue of a machine error, but any advice on where to start looking would be appreciated.

All files are made in vcarve pro 11.5

1 Like

The crown shape is perfectly straight, but everything below it is the issue in the upper pictures. I can upload the gcode or whatever if that helps. It all looks good in the program which is so weird.

I’m by no means an expert. It appears to me 3 things. Speed, feed, and I can’t stress, a quality bit.

1 Like

Bit is a nice Whitside and feeds are good(same I’ve been running for 3 years now), speeds on the bit are a tad high but my Makita doesn’t like slowing down anymore, hence the burning on the cuts which doesn’t matter on this one. I assume vectric has done something weird but I don’t even know where to look.

When is the last time you cleaned the ball nuts? Also it could be a bit of play or the bit being dull

2 Likes

I cleaned the ball nuts not too long ago, but I’ll check those when I get home. I might try retrimming it as well, just to make sure it’s straight.

Had a similar issue once before…turned out to be a "imperfect " bit. It would "gouge " in some places and leave a small step in other places. Switched to a different bit and it carved fine.

Doesnt look like a straight line…maybe a couple “jogs” in it.

I found an SVG of the logo and recut it last night that had 100% straight lines and the issue continued. It was a cleaner cut, but still had the same problem with the janky straight lines.

Typing out loud…
Was it deviating from straight in the same place on the different runs? In that case look in a gcode sim or browser view connecting to the 1F to ensure the gcode is running straight.