Journeyman X-50 or Woodworker X-50

Hey everyone, thank you in advance for your insight.

I am looking to order my first CNC and will be getting a Journeyman X-50 or Woodworker X-50. I am looking for insight as to whether the increased size is worth it. Obviously this is greatly dependent on what I’ll use it for and I know that, so I’m just hoping to get feedback from people using these size machines as I have never used a CNC before.

Currently I’m primarily making furniture pieces, i.e. coffee tables, end table, entertainment centers. I plan to use the 1F to make templates and geometric door designs.

The cost difference between the two isn’t too much of a consideration because I strongly believe in the “cry once” mentality. Space savings is the biggest reason I am debating the two. I don’t have a huge shop but if the bigger size is worth it, I’ll figure it out.

it would be helpful to hear current users experience, such as if you’ve ever been limited with the smaller WW and what project you were trying to do or on the flip side if you have the larger foot print machine but have never used it’s full capacity.

Thank again.

Welcome to the community!

You’ll almost never regret going with the bigger/better/larger/faster machine, if you can swing it.

I would much prefer the ability to handle 48" wide material. I love my Woodworker machine, but I regret the size limitation and having to rip full-sheet material down twice before I can feed the CNC. My first laser handled approximately 24" x 39". I buy 1/8" 4x8 sheets of acrylic, and if you’ve ever tried cutting that stuff on a table saw without proper infeed & outfeed tables/supports, it’s scary! My new laser handles 52" wide so I just load a sheet in and let the laser cut it down to (2) 3x4 sheets and (1) 2x4 sheet that I can store on a shelf. I say all that because it’s nice having larger sheets, and less waste, which applies to the CNC.