Machine moving zero again

So I set my zero front left as I’ve been doing for almost two years of running a cnc almost a year now on the Onefinity specificly.

Previous night at the end of my carve I sent the machine home before shutting down. I noticed the machine was not at the original zero that I set.

Today I reset the zero to the edge of my workpiece and cut my design with my roughing bit, when it finished I saw that when the machine went back to zero it was off in the Y direction by atleast .250 again, So I set my zero again the the edge of the workpiece and cut out the basketball (detail bit). The basketball was cut out touching the name (was designed with space) and the bit again was off when the carve was done. What is going on here.

Did it again. I noticed when it got to the end of the board at 29 inches it made an audible “prrrt” sound. For those of you who have used an xcarve. Kind of like when the belts would skip a tooth. Im also getting the same results where the zero shifts.

Guess no one has had this problem…

I guess I’ll use this as a blog at this point to help others with similar problems.

So been using the machine for almost a year. Had never cleaned the bearings. Cleaned them out today and there was lots of oil saturated wood dust/shavings behind the wipers.

It makes sense that it would have trouble stopping in a precise spot because of the clogs in the bearings. So I will see if I can replicate the problem now that they are clean and freshly oiled.

I’m not sure if this is the same issue or not, as I wouldn’t expect the machine to hit the end of the rail at 29 inches, but it does sound like something is stopping it from moving all the way to the opposite end. Sometime this is due to the two Y railes not being aligned, or when dust accumulates on the end of the rail, robbing you a couple mm in travel.