Ready to start Epoxy pouring

I’ve had my OneFinity for a touch over a year now and I’m ready to venture into the world of Epoxy Pours for things like Catch-All trays.

Recommendations? Advice? Epoxy’s to stay away from? Epoxy’s to consider using?

Thanks, JP

I’ve been considering getting into this myself for the past several years. The general consensus who grace youtube with their reviews pretty much agree on Total Boat and Art Resin for quality and clarity in resin pours and Smooth-On for professional mold-making.

I’d highly recommend a vacuum chamber for degassing but, other than that, it appears to be pretty straight forward as long as you’re working with a decent resin and decent molds.

Need to account for deep or shallow pours. 2 different products.

1 Like

I’ve used a number of different products with varying levels of success.

I had a bad experience with Total Boat Thick Set, though I’m still not sure why. I poured less than the 2" max and it still kicked over night, nearly ruining the project. I use their high performance all the time without any problems. In fact, it is my go-to for any normal sized depths (recommend medium over fast – it gives just enough extra working time).

I’m now using Super Clear Liquid Glass (at the recommendation of Cam from Blacktail) for deep pours and it has worked well so far. I did get a lot of bubbles around day 3 on my first pour, but I think that was my fault during mixing. I’ve since invested in a degassing chamber. I’m about to give that a try here in the next few weeks, so I can report back on my experiences later.

** If you chose Super Clear, sign up for their mailing list and you will get emails about sales – I’ve seen as much as 30% off, making it one of the least expensive epoxies by volume; I just looked and the deep pour is currently on sale through their website – less expensive than Amazon by a few :dollar: :slight_smile: **