Bit positioning and changing during a job?

So I have the Shapeoko XXL and I’ve been eyeballing the onefinity for quite a few months. My side business is starting to take off requiring me to produce at a higher volume (but not enough for a 4’x8’ machine yet).

My biggest concern is bit changing during and before a job. The Shapeoko has an attachment for measuring bit height automatically and readjusts the Z based on the tool length. All the user has to do is install the bit. Nothing else required and this is honesty one of the most amazing features ever.

How does the onefinity account for tool length and z adjustment? Especially mid job when a bit change is required? Is it a completely manual process?

Hi Dylan - you have to manually zero the Z axis - either using a touch plate, or a piece of paper. The touch plate is certainly the fastest option as it is similar to the Shapeoko option, but not nearly as fast.

Hope this helps.

-Tom

Thank you for the info! Looks like I’m sticking eith my Shapeoko for now then, at least until onefinity comes out with a faster option for the z axis measuring! Running a small scale manufacturing shop I can’t let manual Z axis control slow me down.

I watched a video where someone wrote a script for this to use in Mach 3, but it required the use of a clip type probe. Others have wired Chinese automatic tool sensors (~$80 CA), similar to that used on the Shapeoko, but as @Arcen_Yes has said it would be up to OF to make it part of an automatic process in the controller software. Perhaps we can add this to a feature wish list.

Yes, how do we do that? That’s the ONLY thing holding me back (and probably a lot of others) from wanting to pull the trigger on one of these machines. With some simple scripting and a capacitive type device, I wouldn’t imagine it would be a huge endeavor.

The following links are for the video explaining script, and one example of the auto tool sensor: