Carveco - Vectric question

I’m a LONG time VCarve Pro user (at least 15 years). I got started with it back in my CNC machining days to make brass and aluminum things. I then got into CNC routing bout the same time but for making basic profile type of work (boxes, furniture, tools). I’m getting interested in doing some more artistic stuff on my ELITE Journeyman. I came across some interesting YouTube videos on taking photos and adding dimensionality to them like this one from Carveco https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CqGxCUp2toY&t=3s with Maker Plus

This functionality doesn’t exist in VCarve Pro 11.5. It doesn’t appear to be in Aspire either but wanted to see if anyone has any experience doing this with different software tools or clarify if Aspire can do this. I’ve not installed the Aspire demo but I have spent hours watching videos and perusing the website and haven’t seen anything that approaches the Maker Plus video above.

Thanks for any input!

It says they can do 3D lithophanes for back lit carving a photo. I would think setting depth for a 3D image from a vector scan would be possible. I’d research the videos of Aspire on the vectric website or on their forum to search for a related entry.

Personally, I’ve been with V-carve since version 3.1, and I found the free Carveco to be too confusing and never used it for the free year with my Foreman. I will not switch.

2 Likes

Thanks Jim. I’ve done a good 50+ hours of research on this in Aspire and like I said, it isn’t clear that it has similar tools that carveco plus has.

Aspire can do this. It’s a pretty long process, tracing, puffing up individual shapes, blending them together, then adding fine details. I tried it once, but I’m not very artistic, so my face looked nothing like the original picture.

Anyway, Aspire has similar modeling tools to ArtCam/CarveCo.

1 Like