Catch all Tray borders not symmetrical

Can anyone help me figure this out please. When I simulate the tool paths for a project containing a tray, the simulation is perfect. But when it comes to project time I have noticed some of the walls of the tray are thinner and not symmetrical. I probed the machine between every tool change. This has happened to me a few times. Be gracious with me a nube and I’m not tech savvy lol. I appreciate any suggestions.

Did you probe only Z for the new height of the tool or did you probe X,Y,Z? For tool changes you should only probe the Z value leaving X and Y unchanged.

2 Likes

That must be it! I definitely probed xyz after the tool change. Thank you very much. I appreciate it!!

You’re welcome. Probing X and Y establishes the center of the router hence why you need to specify the diameter of the bit you’re using. After that your other bits regardless of size all have the same center but the stick out from the router will likely change when you change the bit which is why you need to establish the Z height again from the same spot.

I have had the same problem on a project like yours. I agree probe only Z on tool changes and I have had success using using center origin instead of the left bottom corner. Also programing a final outline cut, which I see you have done, will insure the design is symmetrical.

Another question. What can i be doing wrong that dont have enough vertical space to change a tool or add the probe on a change?

Awesome. Thanks. I appreciate the advice. Im getting to a point where things are almost perfect but theres something not adding up lol

Hey Josh,

you are not doing anything wrong, the reason for the strange behaviour of the machine and how to adjust this to your needs is described here.

Awesome. Thank you very much!