CNC Newbie needs advice and Guidance

Hello all. I’m a Newbie to the CNC world of things. This past November I bought the Elite CNC. I enjoy creating things with wood so I have quite a few big machines. That being said I have a few questions that I want to make sure I set this up right. For the spindle I will be going with the 80mm @ 2.2kw. So, I just want to make sure the power that will be needed is installed. I have already a few 220+v, at the high end of a 60amp which is for a welder. I have not purchased the spindle nor the VFD yet. Will someone give me some help letting me know how much power (breaker size/type) I will need installed at the panel box and the outlet type. I can have the electrician install it for me. I live in the state of Utah.

For the VFD I believe I will need: 200-240v, 12amp, 3hp, Single or 3-phase??

I was thinking about buying a Delta, Hitachi type of VFD.

I already have a control ip66 panel box for the VFD to place in.

Any suggestions are more than welcome for this Newbie. Tks

Hey Christopher,

if you want to run a 2.2 kW spindle on a single-phase circuit with 240 V, then your VFD will be rated to up to 24 A at its input and the recommended fuse will be 30 A (see here for an example of a wire and fuse size table in my VFD manual).

Are you in North America? If so, in most cases you will have split-phase electricity with 120/240 V which means you need a VFD with 200 V class single-phase input and you would need a NEMA 6-30 outlet or a NEMA 14, with a 30 A circuit breaker, for the single-phase input, 2.2 kW 200 V class VFD.