Increasing IPM on the fly?

can i increase the IPM after I have started to carve ?

1 Like

It’s been an interest of a good number of people for a while as you can see in this early post. The Onefinity controller is not able to do that, and as far as I’ve seen anyway, no one has come up with a work around. Onefinity at one point mentioned they were looking in to this, but I haven’t seen anything since.

You may be able to change the spindle speed though. If you have a hand router, you can pause controller, change speed on router, and unpause. If you have a spindle/VFD you are able to do the same if your VFD allows a “temporary modbus control override”.
Certainly would be a nice addition to the Onefinity controller to have feeds/speeds override on the fly some day.

7 Likes

i completely agree. Sine i am new at cnc i can’t yet estimate what feeds even look like, but I now know the 40 IPM is terribly slow to put a tiny little v groove on a spoil board lol

1 Like

Yes, I’m in the same boat with not knowing much at all about feeds and speeds. I have a vfd/spindle combo, which would have feed/speed differences as compared to a handheld router. There are guys that can help with practical experience here and on the Facebook page if you give them details of your machine, spindle or router, bit specs, material, etc. I also bought G Wizard Calculator which helps. Their hobby lite version is pretty reasonably priced if you want to get in the ballpark and you can lower the “aggressiveness” of the calculations to fit a less rigid hobby cnc as opposed to a pro set-up.
It seems like most people find they can up the feed more than they thought - I know I did.

1 Like

I agree it very frustrating, a lot of my work is in hard wood, oak and ash mainly and often one piece cuts very differently to the next, normally due to grain structure or grain direction.