X35 Woodworker tool change help request

I am just getting started using my onefinity. It is the first CNC I have ever used. I use the Vetric 11.5 software. I am just getting into it and on 2nd try making a dish.

one question I have is how to set the height of the spinidle when it resets for tool change. I was doing a three tool cut, after the second tool the spindle did not retract high enough to fit the new tool in and then the touch probe. I stopped the program, raised the spindle with the controller to get the tool in and continue.

The next question I have is after stopping the program, how do I restart it. I found the line of code where I was stopped at, however I was not able to select that line of code and start a new. When I selected the play option, the spindle spun up and things when poorly. I have since ordered replacement touch probe wires, bits, and fortunately didn’t hurt myself.

Any help you all can be is appreciated.

Have Vcarve export separate files for each bit.

Hey Sean,

this is done by tweaking the values of the g-code commands in the ‘tool-change’ field of the General Configuration Tab, as described here.

The Onefinity Controller does not support this. You just can pause, but after stop you can only start the g-code program from the beginning. What you can do is edit your g-code program manually with a text editor or a g-code editor to delete parts that were already achieved, but you have to take care that certain g-code commands that set modes or units are prepended at the beginning.

Welcome to the forum!

Further Reading

1 Like

There is a few videos on youtube that helped me with this. Sorry I didnt bookmark it.

1 Like