Lifespan of the Ball Screw Concern - Ordered Anyway

I just took the plunge and ordered the Onefinity CNC! Excited and daunted as I am new to CNC, though I have done some laser CNC.

My main worry is the lifespan on the Ball Screw’s and how much they would cost to replace, and can they be replaced at home? I looked all over the forum and didnt see anything about this topic really.

I don’t love that there isnt an option to seal off the ballscrews with some kind of shielding, so I keep wondering how long does it take debris to get in there and mess up the ballscrews.

Respectfully,
Will

3 Likes

Unsure what’s in place in the bearings for the sealed portions for the ball screws, or the overall expected wear. I know there are recommendations made regarding cleaning and oiling the machine. Further reading on the subject can be found here: https://www.machinedesign.com/mechanical-motion-systems/linear-motion/article/21833873/protecting-ball-screws-pays-off

2 Likes

Will, this one the same question I asked back in April or May before I even ordered the machine. There are coverings out there (they are called bellows) but after having the machine for a solid month, i really don’t know that they are needed. I use the dust boot most of the time so not much even gets on the screws, but what does is wiped off by the seals. I honestly wouldn’t let it bother you. Ballscrews are not expensive and this machine appears to be easy to service when that time come. Get the machine and just enjoy it.

2 Likes