Makita Burned Up

I bought the Makita that is suggested and it burned up with less than 5 hours of use. Gross orangish smoke coming out of it burned up.

I understand a factory defect. No grudge there, they handle thousands of products, I assume I am a one off. So I sent it into Makita to get it replaced, That was in August. I got an automated email saying they’ve received it in September and I have heard nothing else from them.

I am a disabled veteran. Woodworking is a hobby for me. This giant machine has been taking up shop space, it hasn’t been working long enough to become a part of any work flow. I am finally getting around to giving it another chance. I am just wondering if there is another router that will fit it? I feel out of my depth with the idea of getting a spindle but if that is the only other option I will consider it.

I really don’t want to reward Makita’s pour customer service by buying any more of their products.

Thank you so much for your time
Dave

I believe this one is a drop in replacement for the Makita.

Carbide Compact Router - Carbide 3D

6 Likes

I am going to look into that, I really appreicate it. Thank you so much!

WikiSnapper,

I am sure you will soon get an onslaught of comments in this thread about trim routers and how they are not designed for use in cnc machines due to duty cycle, cooling method (air), and many other things. These are all true. I have also burnt up a makita router in my machine and would love to make the jump to a spindle, but havent wanted to drop the money on it yet.