OneFinity CNC Enclosure using dual-pane windows

I received some dual-pane windows for free and figured I’d build my enclosure using those for horizontal doors on all four side. Here are some details…happy to share more.

The windows were quite a pain (pun intended). They have channels where they slide up/down, so I had to use my router to flatten out the rails. It’s not the prettiest enclosure, but it should be fairly well sealed to keep the noise to a minimum. Once I move I’ll finish it all off nicely by gluing it all up, filling, sanding, and painting.

Software wise, I bought Vectric Desktop. Only bad thing is the 24"x24" limitation. I’ll start small with my project and will upgrade when I’m more ambitious. I’ve been building projects for a few months now and it’s very easy to use. Now we’ll see if I can actually cut out my project successfully! I’m taking leave on Friday so I have a long weekend to play. My first project will be the name plate for my CNC. I’ll post that product to this thread…regardless of how it turns out.

I built it on a KREGS 4’x6’ table.

Plywood table top is 54" wide by 72 inches long. Actual enclosure measurements are W: 52" D: 54" H: 28". I wanted to ensure I had room for the dust boot when I eventually move to a place with more than a single breaker with 15 amps (UGH!).

I tried to use lessons learned from multiple enclosures and table tops I’ve seen. I upgraded the router cord to improve cable management on the X. I have a 18mm x 25mm drag chain I just installed for the router power cord.

Google Photos

I had to move my controller box to the left side because the X and Z cords are very short. ADVICE: buy the longer cables!!! Now I need to go back and order a set because I “assumed” they’d be long enough for my plans.

Google Photos