Power / spindle / dust collector question

Hi all, complete newb here. Have ordered an elite foreman and an oneida supercell, and trying to figure out which spindle to get. I will probably go with pwncnc. Since the DC is 220v, do I need to get a 220v spindle so that I can have the spindle and DC start up at the same time? From what I gather the foreman only does that with a router, i.e. I cannot use what’s on the foreman to start up the DC and spindle at the same time - in that case, how do people do it? Is there a separate power supply you can get to plug both the spindle and DC into?

Sorry if it’s a dumb question. Tried exploring the forums for this answer but couldn’t find anything. Thanks!

I have a Supercell and it as you mention is 220 VAC, I don’t think you can connect it to the Masso supply and control it like you could a 120 Volt shop vac.
The spindle is no problem especially with the pwcnc, it is plug and play, but if you go with the 2.2 Kw spindle you most likely will need a 220 power source to power it, separate from the DC power.
I would be interested to see how you end up doing this, I think you will need a separate relay but I am not that good with electrics.
You probably will get a lot of good feed back here.

Thanks, Pat

1 Like

I think everyone is having similar issue using the power supply to auto start the dc. I ended up going with the Ivac set up (a little pricey but works great and easy to set up). Basically you plug the dc into a wireless transmitter and clip a usb powered sensor on the cord coming from the spindle (which is powered by the masso) and then have a remote. It’s a niece heavy duty system and expandable to automatic blast gates and like 8 machines if you so desire. I think for the remote, sensor and transmitter was around 180 bucks but after setting it up my only regret was waiting 3 months to spend the dough. Good luck brother

2 Likes

Hey David,