Z axis will not zero

Newbie here. Just set up the Oneinfinity and for the life of me I cannot get the z axis to zero. It will home, but it will not zero. I’ve tried moving the z mount up and down. I’ve tried pushing the bit in further and pulling it out, as suggested on FB. Nothing is working. It still says it’s over, and I’m getting a message that “the z axis position is 31.21 mm is greater than maximum soft limit”. Can anyone please tell me what is going on. Thank you!

Hi Alan - first, welcome to the forums. It sucks you are having issues. First, did you press the “zero” button on the UI to zero the z height? Or are you using the touch plate?

If that is good, then check your limits (motor 3 is Z) and ensure they are set properly. Unless you changed them, I don’t know why they would not be set to acceptable limit.

If all that checks out, please post your gcode so we can take a look. Hope this helps.

-Tom

2 Likes

Hi Tom,

Thank you for taking the time to help me.

What I’ve been doing is. I will start the machine up, and then home it. Everything will home fine. I then move and center the router over the project, and hit the zero button for both the x, and y axis. I will then place the probe I purchased from One Infinity and attempting to zero the z axis. This is when everything goes wrong. Sometimes it will go through the process of trying to zero, and sometimes it goes straight to giving me the error message.

I looked at the Limits for the min-soft limit and it is exactly the same as in your picture. If you would guide me on how to get the Code, I’ll post that so that you can review it. Here are pictures of what I receive after attempting to zero the z axis.

Again Thank you!

(upload://11Pz2zppgdaRxJxcjVHOvlwAJSi.jpeg)

1 Like

Hi Alan - just to confirm, you place the probe on the work piece, center the bit over the probe, and then hit ‘probe for z’, right?