Alarm homing error-unable to jog (solved, wrong settings in f1 screeen)

Heeelp please. I’m a novice CNC’er in the UK who has not been able to carve anything yet on my Foreman Elite.
After building the machine I had a X motor alarm which the support team gave advice which sorted the problem i.e. reset to factory settings. Now I’m getting a “Alarm Homing Error” after pressing the homing button. The X axis moves an inch and stops. The Y & Z axis do not move at all although the numbers in the X,Y & Z windows change as if the machine is moving. I am also unable to jog the machine in either steps or continuous mode. I can clear the alarm by pressing the E Stop button but as soon as I double tap the Home button, X moves an inch and the homing error alarm starts flashing. I would be grateful for any help to get the machine running properly. Many thanks.

We can look into a few things…

One helpful step is to share a copy of the printable settings file - it will show all current settings. See here… https://docs.masso.com.au/wiring-and-setup/save-and-load-settings

In the F1 screen are the homing sensor inputs all green/LOW, and do they turn red/HIGH when you manually trigger each sensor by hand?

Before homing, can you move each axis using the on screen jog arrows (make sure slider is set to 100% and on continuous) and do they move in the correct directions? X+ right, Y+ back, Z+ up?

Where were the axes located when you had your failed homing cycles?

1 Like

Check the homing sensors, make sure there is nothing getting in the way. I had a problem where one of the sensor cables was constantly getting caught between the sensor, causing an alarm. A zip tie fixed my problem.

1 Like

Hi Scott. Thanks for your email. I’ve checked all the homing sensors and they’re clear. I’ve given them a quick blow out just to be sure.

Kind regards.

Karl

Good afternoon. TMToronto.