Cutting thin gauge steel

Does anyone have any experiance cutting 20G steel? If so, I’d love to chat, I have several questions about the process.

as an amateur machinist I can tell you that even at it’s lowest speed you cnc router is like five times the speed a milling machine would spin at, and that would not be good for any bit cutting metal. it will either overheat and or break. it could even throw sparks

3 Likes

Hey Nick,

if you want to mill steel, the usual spindles shown here that have two magnetic poles and a speed range from 6,000 rpm – 24,000 rpm are not the right thing. While they are excellent for high chip loads on wood, because the have constant torque up to very high speed, mostly steel is milled with rather slow speeds from 1,500 – 3,000 rpm, but with high torque. For this, I would choose a spindle with 4 or more magnetic poles (2 or more pole pairs) which are rated 3,000 – 12,000 rpm or even 1,500 – 12,000 rpm. Because of the double number of magnetic poles, at the same VFD frequency, they run at half the speed than those with 2 poles (=1 pole pair), as explained here, but with double the torque.

Examples:

For comparison, a spindle with 2 magnetic poles with characteristic as the most spindles shown here (good for wood):

Compare the speed/torque diagram on the bottom of all the datasheets!

More spindles

Pole pairs on three-phase asynchronuous induction motors:

Polpaar_zahl_1
Biezl, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons

Polpaar_zahl_2
Biezl, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons

2 magnetic poles (1 pole pair) 4 magnetic poles (2 pole pairs)
5 Likes

While the Onefinity frame itself is up to the task of light steel milling, the typical spindle choices are not (whether we’re talking Makita router or VFD type spindle).