Anyone using Huanyang GT series VFD?

Hi everyone. Another CNC rookie. Have a Woodworker on order, and a 2.2kw spindle from Jianken to go with it, so pretty excited to learn on it. First dip in to the CNC world (and first post on the forum).
On to the VFD. I’d like to go with Huanyang because I know very little about electronics and it seems like that’s the VFD with the most online help from this forum and others. Lots of great info.
I was minutes away from ordering a 4.0 kw GT series because I thought any Huanyang would be fine, when I ran across a post where someone couldn’t get it to work with the Onefinity controller. Seems like the GT is a little step up from the HY.
Any chance anyone is using the GT series or knows if it can be set up with the Onefinity controller using the breakout board?

Martin, I am a newbie too, and have the same question. Did you decide to stick with the HY model VFD, or find a way to use the GT?

Hey @Tas As you can see no one jumped in here :slightly_smiling_face:, so I went with the Hitachi WJ200 instead. I’m happy with the Hitachi and don’t regret it, but it is a bit more expensive. Gives you Sensorless Vector Control like the GT series among a number of other features. If you’re interested in learning a little about the Hitachi this post and a couple others on the forum have some good info. However, people are successful with the cheaper Chinese VFDs too. Sorry can’t help you specifically on the GT series

Thanks Martin, I will take a look at it too.

Edit: What Spindle did you go with?

2 Likes

Hi @Tas I bought a Jianken 2.2kw water cooled straight from the Chinese manufacturer. Seems like a quality spindle and has worked well for the short time I’ve had it, but I’ve been since told the 2.2kw rating may be “iffy” based on the amps, so I’m not sure I could recommend it or not. I’ll have to push it a little more to know in practice.