Wanting to purchase a new spindle questions (solved with answers from Onefinity)

I know this topic has been beaten to death here, but I haven’t really found specific answers to some of the questions I have. I have had a Makita router for about two years and it’s on its last leg. I would like to upgrade to a spindle as I have heard it is worlds better than a router. So here a few questions I have, as I am totally new to the spindle game. I would like a 65mm spindle air cooled as I don’t have the 80mm upgrade attachment:

1. Do I need to purchase a spindle AND a VFD?
  2. Reputable manufacturers for spindles?
  3. Overall cost I’m looking at?
  4. I don’t want to have to do any fancy wiring or electrician stuff to my garage outlets. What size spindle will allow me to not have to change anything?
  5. Is the onefinity controller plug and play with a spindle or am I going to have to do some wiring?

Thanks!

1. Yes, most are sold as kits together.
  2. there’s China (cheap), us (more expensive than the machine). The two most users get are from pwncnc (china) or solifide design Redirecting... (usa) are plug and play.
    Amazon sells pieces that you can program and wire for much cheaper (huanyang brand is generally the best china has to offer), but not everyone is an electrician, see: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cCZWYkiVAXs
  3. plug and play kits $800+, build your own from pieces on amazon: $400+
  4. You have the 65mm mount, so a 65mm spindle
  5. see #2, but you’ll have to do some wiring.

The most important thing to note is adding a spindle will remove any technical support from Onefinity officiially. We do not support spindles. If you have an issue with a spindle/vfd installed on a Onefinity, you will be 100% relient on the community or your spindle manufacturer.